Tell me what you think.

This is a list that I want to read in the future. I don’t know how near or far that future might be. If you’ve read, or heard anything about them, let me know what you think. If you have any suggestions for me to add to my list, let me know as well. I intend for this list to be continuously changing and updating. Placeholder Image

The Girl on the Train by Paula HawkinsAll I know about this is it’s a thriller and a lot of people say good things about it. I don’t know why, maybe because the description is so vague, I haven’t gotten myself to read it yet. I loved Gone Girl, and I think this is supposed to be a similar vibe, but I haven’t been able to commit. 

The Autobiography of Malcolm X as told to Alex Haley I have limited knowledge of Malcolm X, most of which I picked up in high school history class. Although it’s more than the average person, I’ve always been intrigued by Malcolm X as a historical figure because people always mutter his name in the same breathe as Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr, but I know that his viewpoints were SO starkly different.. I want to see how this telling compares to what I remember learning in high school. In terms of Alex Haley, I recently read Roots over the summer. I know it was supposed to be somewhat historical, but the way Haley told the story made me question his legitimacy as an dependable historical source. Parts of Roots felt forced, parts felt overly optimistic, and it varied between dragging and ending segments abruptly. Although I appreciate what he tried to do with Roots, I want to see how or if I can feel the influence of Haley in this autobiography, and I want to choose for myself if I think it can legitimately be called an “autobiography”. 

Ms. Marvel (V.1): No Normal by G Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona – In terms of comics, I’ve always been more of a DC fan, despite them being generally a lot less diverse than Marvel. My first experience reading a Marvel comic really ruined me for them. It read cheesy and childish, whereas when I started reading DC, it always felt more dark and meant for adults. I wanted to give Marvel a second chance though, and I’ve heard amazing things about these comics. 

Wicked by Gregory MaguireI tried reading this as a teenager, but never finished as I could never really get into it. I’m hoping to give it another go, as I plan to see the musical when it comes to Orlando. 

Pretty Baby by Mary KubicaI read The Good Girl by her and I absolutely loved it, so I have high expectations for this book as well. 

So, this is what I can think of for now. I’d really like to know what people think of these before attempting them, as I’m not completely ready to commit to them yet. Let me know if you have any suggestions, or opinions on these or any other books. Thanks. =)

