***Election Day in the USA, I hope everyone chose wisely*** 

Life is too short to waste on bad books. 

unnamed-4

The description of this book sounded great. Lara Jean writes love letters to boys that she has crushes on but never mails them. Someone finds them, and mails them, and she has the deal with the consequences. It sounded like a quirky teen romance, hopefully with a lovable main character, hilariously awkward situations, and a romantic wrap up, that everyone but the protagonist predicted by the end. I would have been okay with this. If the author went off the predicted formula, I would have been even more excited.

In the end, I never found out what the author decided to do with the plot of the book, because the style and speed of the book was so painful for me, I gave up at Chapter 5. I refuse to waste my time reading books that I don’t like and that I already have a strong feeling I won’t grow to like, when there are so many other wonderful books out there (and in my possession) to be read.

When I started reading, the thing that irked me the most was that the author seemed to have no idea how to write a realistic teenager. The sentences were choppy and the thoughts seemed undeveloped, which gave the feeling that the narrator was very young. I assumed this was a flashback at first, with her maybe being around 10 to 12, so when I was informed that she was supposed to be 16, I literally started cringing at the unrealistic dialogue and narration. This also applied to her younger sister who seemed to speak more in the tone of about a 6 year old, instead of the 9 years assigned to her.

Going hand in hand with this complaint, I had this overwhelming feeling of impatience as I read. Where was this all going? What’s the point of this scene, of this sentence? There seemed to be so many meaningless conversations and details, and since they were not particularly well done, I was hoping for the plot to really carry the story along.

The more this went on, of unrealistic narrators and non-existent conflicts, the more I was bothered by it. Was this a glitch in the first few chapters, or would it eventually correct itself? That when I decided to do an outside consultation before deciding to definitely call it quits. I had gotten this book from a friend who was doing a book un-haul, so I knew she had read it. When I felt the feeling of dread at the prospect of picking up this book again, I decided to message her to see if I should give the book a chance. She didn’t like it either, and, more importantly, she confirmed that there was no major transformation in the book, that made the rest of it a lot better than the beginning. I was pretty sure there was nothing to save this book in my eyes.

I decided since at that point, I was only 2 chapters in, I would try a little bit more, but the thing that really struck the nail in the coffin was the introduction of the character named Chris, Lara Jean’s best friend. It wasn’t so much anything about her, other than her being as “cliche bad girl” as Lara Jean was “cliche good girl”, but it was more of the way that the author decided to describe her. In one section the author speaks of the tense relationship between Margot (Lara Jean’s older sister) and Chris by saying “Chris thinks Margot is uptight, Margot thinks Chris is bipolar”. I thought to myself, if this author could not possibly think of a synonym to wild, unpredictable and irresponsible other than using the stereotypes of a serious mental illness flippantly, then she obviously did not put enough time into writing this book, and I did not want to spend any more of my time reading it. This might seem a bit harsh, but I knew at this point that this book could not be saved in my eyes, and I quit.

Onward to better and brighter things. =)

