When you don’t like comedy, the story really begins when the actions start and the jokes stop. 
unnamed-7

So, I am not a big fan of comedy. I’m super picky, and although there are some movies that I find absolutely hilarious, overall I get the “trying too hard “vibe from comedies, and that’s just something I don’t dig. So I didn’t read this book because I was excited for funny read, and honestly I was already turned off by the description of the story.

Are you ready for this?

This book is about a raunchy, twice-divorced and bitter 60 year old electrician from Queens, who unexpectedly dies immediately after purchasing the winning lottery ticket, and is reincarnated as a rich family’s dog.

Yeah, it’s weird. But, I got this book as a gift from a friend who had gone to university with the author and insisted he was extremely funny.

My review will be short because I don’t have many strong feelings about this work. I didn’t like the way it started. I felt like it was trying too hard to be funny, but the book’s version of humor was making the main character as raunchy and cliche as possible. I grew tired of this quickly. I started asking myself, what is the purpose of this scene? how does this relate to the greater plot?

For me, despite this book being mainly a comedy, I feel like I never really cared for it until the action started at about two-thirds of the way in. Figures. Once this did start, however, I became a lot more interested, and I thought the end was pleasant.

In the end, I was mostly indifferent. It wasn’t bad, but wasn’t my cup of tea. It might be someone else’s though.

 

