unnamed-2

I wanted to like this book. I really did. But this is one of the few that I just couldn’t finish reading. I felt myself dragging through it, forcing myself to read it, instead of being excited to finish. Pros and cons list anyone.

Pro: There’s a mystery going on.

Con: There are too many mysteries to keep track of.

Pro: The artwork makes you feel like you’re in the story, looking at things around you, instead of looking down at a page.

Con: Often times, the jump from location to location is so dramatic and unexpected that you have to take a few minutes to figure out where you are, if you’ve been there before, and the significance of where you are and who you’re talking with.

Pro: There are cats.

Con: You would think talking cats would have personality, even if it is in the post-apocalyptic world. They don’t. =(

My main summary of this is, if you like magic and violence, and are willing to sort through a world completely foreign to ours, go for it. The artwork is gorgeous, and there is a lot going on. Unfortunately, I was not in the head-space for this at all. I don’t like fight scenes in graphic novels. I can never keep track of what’s going on. In this book, I often felt like I had no idea what was going on at all. It was a little too much for me, and because of this constant feeling of being lost, I couldn’t keep going with it. Just wasn’t the book for me.

