Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova – Four Kittens and a Hamster. This book started slow, but ended up being a really exciting read with likable characters. It had characters of color, and LGBTQ characters as well. These characters were not written in cliche ways, and the adventure was engaging.

 

Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson – Four Kittens. This was a quick and fairly easy read. It did not pull me into the story as much as I would have liked, but I liked it. I was initially turned off by the description, as it seemed so different than my average YA reads, but it ended up being a book that I would suggest to YA fans if they wanted a quick, simple read as a form of escapism.

download-3

DC Comics Bombshells, Vol. 1: Enlisted, and Vol. 2: Allies – Five Kittens. This was the easiest for me to judge. I LOVED THESE COMICS. All major characters were female. They were extremely complex, and well developed, despite so many sharing main stage, and they were re-imagined wonderfully. Only criticism was the changing artists. Some issues had artists that drew in such a different style I could not recognize the characters.

Bitch Planet, Book One: Extraordinary Machines – Five Kittens. This is a feminist graphic novel set in a dystopian futuristic society. The work is raw, mature, and laced with satire which makes it all the more worth reading.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer – Five Kittens. I don’t know if I’ve just been picking good books, or I’m in a good mood, but I loved this. A dystopian, futuristic, slightly steampunk retelling of Cinderella that starts out a series that I’m so excited to read. You should be excited to. Suggested for all.

Ms. Marvel: Last Days (Vol. 4) and Super Famous (Vol. 5) – Four Kittens and a Hamster. Continuation of the series. As awesome as the rest. Slightly confusing if you aren’t familiar with the Marvel universe and what’s going on with it, but still doable. I highly suggest if you are interested in a lighter read.

 


The Girl From the Well by Rin Chupeco – 3 Kittens. I was disappointed in this one. I was expecting a scary story or at least a creepy one, but as it was told from the perspective of the ghost, it made the story a lot more pleasant, which I found a negative thing. It never drew me in, and never made my spine tingle, unfortunately. If you are looking for something spine-chilling in the YA direction, I would suggest reading the Asylum series by Madeleine Roux.

A Fierce and Subtle Poison by Samantha Mabry – 3 Kittens. Also lacking something, it provided an interesting story that I was motivated to finish, but it never fully won me over, as I felt constantly unsettled with the setting. The author wanted to do something with Puerto Rico but made both main characters outsiders, making Puerto Rico a vague shell of a place. This ruined the story for me. Not worth the read.

Poison Princess by Kresley Cole – 2 kittens. So, full disclosure, I didn’t finish reading this book. I have so many other books I’m genuinely excited about, and I just didn’t find this book worth my time. My main issue was that the focus was a teen drama, not the actual apocalypse which had been the main selling point for me in the beginning. So if you wanna have a rich girl conflicted by her feelings for other sides of tracks boy, go for it. If you’re looking for a dystopian thriller, not worth your time.

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer – 5 kittens. This sequel measures up the the first book in the series, which I find is a rarity. It was an amazing retelling of the Red Riding Hood story, with a bunch of twists, turns, surprises and plot twists. It also includes characters from the first novel in a way that was unexpected by me, but much appreciated. Definitely worth continuing this series.

Rat Queens, Vol 1: Sass and Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wieve and Roc Upchurch- 3 Kittens. The artwork in this book is gorgeous. I really did appreciate that, and that is definitely a high in this book. I also loved the personalities of each individual character and I liked their complexities. My main issue came with the fighting scenes. I just did not enjoy them, and over a quarter of the volume are fight scenes. They are the main reason why I ranked the volume as low as I did.

download-2

The Pledge by Christina Garner (The Witches of Coventry House, Book 1) – 3 kittens and a hamster. The characters are realistic and relatable. They are the kind of girls you’d want to be friends with and the kind of people that have struggles you care about. The biggest issue with this book is that it’s supposed to be a horror, but apparently the author’s forte is actually writing drama. Even though I finished this book, and loved it, the ending felt rushed, and I felt no desire to read the sequel, as I felt that the attempts of making a demonic threat the main focus was never followed through with and the ending was really rushed.

Monstress by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Vol. 1 – The Awakening) – 2 kittens. This was one of those books I just couldn’t finish. There was too much going on. They would reveal one clue and then introduce 40 new mysteries. I felt constantly lost and it got to point where I didn’t even care what was going on anymore. It’s described as a book for someone who likes violence and magic. While it does have both of those, it also has an almost ungraspable story line. I would only recommend for the experienced in graphic novels. As I said,  I couldn’t finish it. download-1

 

